January 2013 Smith Award Recipients

Smith Award recipients were celebrated at an early breakfast at the UF Continuing Medical Education College of Medicine office on January 28, 2013.


Sharon Byun, MD for proposal on Implementation of Obstetric Emergency Simulation Drills. Co-Investigators: Denise Vonderstrasse, RN Clinical Leader L&D, Janice Mackenzie, RN L&D Nurse Manager,Tammy Euliana, M.D. Chief OB Division, John Davis, M.D. Director GYN Division, Anthony Gregg, M.D. Director Maternal-Fetal Medicine;


Joan Sacerio, RN, MHSA, BSN, CHPN for proposal on Pressure Ulcers: Crisis of Prevention. Co-Investigators: Donna Geiger, RN, CWON, Sandra McDonald, RN, Pt. Safety Officer, Amy Meyer, J.D. SIP Claims Coordinator , Paul Acedera, CPHRM, Orvin Jenkins, SIP Claims Coordinator;


Cynthia Leaphart, MD for proposal on Building Infrastructure to Develop and Promote a Culture of Safety: A Pilot Program for General Surgery Patients. Co-Investigators: Robert Wears, M.D., Dept. of ED; Sandy McDonald, R.N., Patient Safety Officer, Marilyn Main, MSN, Director Peri-operative Services, Danita Burch, MSN, Clinical Education Specialist, Steven Godwin, M.D, ED Director, Daniel Castillo, M.D., Program Director Anesthesiology Residents, Peggy James, M.D., Assoc. Director Anesthesiology Residency, Michael Nussbaum, M.D., Chair Department of Surgery;


Adrienne DeBerry, PharmD for proposal on Impact of Collaborative Care Services for High-Risk Patients after Discharge from a Large Urban Medical Center. Co-Investigators: Billie Nguyen, Pharm.D., Supervisor Ambulatory Pharmacy, Judella Haddad-Lacie, M.D., Assistant Professor, UF College of Pharmacy, Karen Malcolm, Pharm.D., Manager Ambulatory Care, Ly Nguyen, Pharm.D., Clinical Pharmacist, Russell McKelvey, Pharm D., Drug Information Specialist, Julie Ferm, PharmD., Clinical Pharmacist;


Robert Zori, MD for proposal on Communication Intervention to Improve Patient Experience during a Genetic Counseling Visit: Pre-Visit Video Pilot Project. Co-Investigators: Yulia Strekalova, MBA, COM-Pediatrics/COJ-Health Communication, Laura Fairbrother, MS>, CGC, Pediatrics/Genetics.