January 2012 Smith Award Recipients

Smith Award recipients were celebrated at an early morning breakfast at the Shands Cancer Center on February 10, 2012.


Nicole Paradise Black, MD for proposal on Improving Patient-and Family-Centered Care: A Family Partner for the Inpatient Unit at Shands Hospital for Children at the University of Florida;


Garth Graham, MD, MPH, FACP for proposal on Implementation of a Hospital Based Discharge Intervention to Improve Heart Failure Readmissions. Co-Investigators: Eric I. Rosenberg, MD, MSPH, FACP and Erin M. Jones, Pharm.D;


Stephen R. Grobmyer, MD for proposal on Implementation of a Prospective Quality Assessment Program for the UF-Shands Breast Cancer Program. Co-Investigators: Martha Comstock, ARNP, Stephen Staal, MD, Judith Lightsey, MD, Julia Marshall, MD and Samer Al-Quran, MD;


Linda Le-Wendling, MD for proposal on Venous Air Embolism (VAE): A Widespread and Likely Fatal Complication and the Development of a Multidisciplinary Simulation Model for the Education of the Physiology, Detection and Management of VAE. Co-Investigators: Dietrich Gravenstein, MD, Morgan Matthie, MD, Sem Lampoteng, PhD, F Kayser Enneking, MD and David Lizdas;


Michael E. Mahla, MD and Virginia Pesata, MSN, ARNP, NEA-BC, DPNAP for proposal on Developing a Second Victim Staff Support Pilot Program for the Consequences of Unanticipated Clinical Events;


Christine Van Dillen, MD for proposal on Prehospital Sepsis Recognition;