January 2014 Smith Award Recipients

Smith Award recipients were celebrated at an early breakfast at the Shands South Tower on Tuesday, January 28, 2014.


Irene M. Estores, MD for her proposal on Introducing an Innovative Mindfulness Training Program to Improve Teamwork Among Interdisciplinary Health Professionals. Co-Investigators: Nancy Lasseter, Ed.S., LMHC; Lauren Arce, MSN, RN, CNL, OCN

Maureen LaTour, MSN, RN, CNL for her proposal on Simulation Team Training for Interdisciplinary Communication in Emergency Pediatric Situations. Co-Investigators: Shelly Collins, MD; Nora Colman, MD; Betty Jax, MSN, ARNP, RN-BC; Kim Mueller, MSN, ACNP-BC

Maureen Novak, MD for her proposal on Enhancing Inter-Professional Learning to Improve Clinical Care and Patient Safety with Technology. Co-Investigators: Karen Sando; Sara Weitzel; Christine Marin

Michael S. Okun, MD for his proposal on Reducing Parkinson’s Disease Related Future Legal Claims and Preventing Future Patient Injuries Through a Real-Time Quality and Safety Assessment Program. Co-Investigators: Chuck Jacobson; Danielle McGee; Chalice Rahl; Janet Romrell, PA; Pam Zeilman, ARNP; Hok Morita,UF Fellow; Vince Sposato; Cyndi Falck

Kristen Vanderhoef, MD & Adrienne Warrick, ME for their proposal on A Pilot Project for Promoting a Culture of Safety Through TeamSTEPPS and Standardization of Central Line Insertion: An Interdisciplinary Grant for the Department of Anesthesiology and Emergency Medicine. Co-Investigators: Joan Sacerio, RN, MHSA, BSN, CHPN; Steven A. Godwin, MD; Michael C. Lewis, MBBS; David A. Caro, MD; Sharon Edmunds, RN; Rhonda Williams, Anesthesiology Technician; Cynthia L. Leaphart, MD