July 2012 Smith Award Recipients

Smith Award recipients were celebrated at an early breakfast at the UF Continuing Medical Education College of Medicine office on July 10, 2012.

  Sullivan_group_2012 Sandra Sullivan, MD, for proposal on Best Fed Beginnings: A First Step. Co-investigators: Kati S. Harlan, RN, MSN, LHRM; Mary Ryngaert, ARNP, IBCLC; Meredith Mowitz, MD; Brenda Ray, RN, MSN, CNM; Brenda Owens, RN, BSN, IBCLC and Jessica Essex, Mother Representative.   Rosenberg_group_2012 Amy F. Rosenberg, PharmD, BCPS and Erin Jones, PharmD, for proposal on Medication Error Detection by Hospitalized Patients and Analysis of Patient Satisfaction Using a Daily Medication List. Co-investigators: Kathy Gamble, MN, ARNP, CPN; Gale Danek, PhD, RN, NE-BC, DPNAP; Thomas Johns, PharmD, BCPS and Eric Rosenberg, MD, MSPH, FACP.
  Colleen_group_2012 Colleen Counsell, RN, MSN, for proposal on Management of the Traumatic Brain Injury Patient in Acute Care. Co-investigators: Julie Smith, RN, BSN, PCCN; Donna York, MSN; Latha Stead, MD; Karly L. O’Brien, Pharm.D.; Morgan Soule, MOT, OTR/L; Peggy Guin PhD, ARNP, CNS-BC, CNRN; Susan Currie, RN, BSN, CCRN; George Conol, RN; Amy Fullerton, MA, CCC-SLP; Dorothea Lever, ARNP and Bill Shreve, RN.
Screen Shot 2015-03-30 at 8.37.24 AM

Christopher Jolley, MD, for proposal on Impact of a Structural Support Group on Quality of Life and Disease Course in Teenager with Inflammatory Bowel Disease. Co-investigator: Genie Beasley, MD, Medical Fellow.


Lisa M. Jones, MD, for proposal on Implementation of a Protocol for Early Identification and Management of Sepsis, Severe Sepsis/Septic Shock Patients-An Institution-wide Multidisciplinary Collaborative. Co-investigators: Miren Schinco, MD; Abubakr A. Bajwa, MD; Carol Fultz, MSM, NM and Cynthia Gerdik, MBA, RN.

Screen Shot 2015-03-30 at 8.39.23 AM

Robert Leverence, MD, for proposal on Improving Physician/Patient Communication with AIDET (Acknowledge, Introduce, Duration, Explanation, Thanks). Co-investigators: Nila Radhakrishnan, MD; Christine Cassisi, MBA; Anthony Koffman, MHA; Patricia Stamm, MEd and Kasey Barrett.


William L. Titsworth, MD, PhD, for proposal on The Effect of a Pain Management Protocol on Postoperative Neurosurgical Pain. Co-investigators: William A. Friedman, MD; Robert Hurley, MD; Peggy Guinn, PhD, ARNP, CNS-BC, CNRN; Jennifer Bushwitz, PharmD and Justine Abrams, MSN, RN, CNRN.